TAX ASSESSOR GAIL SNYDER
The Arkansas Constitution has several provisions concerning taxes. It creates the office of the County Assessor; establishes which properties are taxable, and limits tax rates.
The County Assessor is responsible for the assessment of all personal and real estate property in the County. The County Assessor is required to maintain current appraisal and assessment records by securing necessary filed data and making changes in valuations as they occur in land use and improvements.
Personal Property Department
It is the responsibility of the taxpayer to report to the Assessor's Office a list of all personal property they are in possession of each year, beginning January 1st through May 31st. Failure to report by the May 31st deadline will result in a late assessment penalty of 10% on the total assessment value.
Property to be assessed includes, but is not limited to:
Livestock (used for commercial purposes)
All assets used in businesses
You must have a current assessment and tax clearance before you can renew your tags at the Revenue Office.
To assess your personal property, come in and see our friendly staff in the Personal Property Department at 119 W Arch, call 501-279-6205 or visit the County Service website.
Real Estate Department
This department has many duties. First and foremost, it maintains the Real Estate Property Record cards. All deeds, contracts, annexations and plats have to be noted and set up for tax purposes. The mineral assessment of all the gas production in the Fayetteville Gas Play is also set up and maintained by this department. We also set up and maintain the applications for the rural fire departments to apply fire dues to the tax bills in their districts. The department also handles filing for Homestead applications, saving the taxpayer up to $350 off their tax bill, and applies the freeze to assessment valuations for all qualified homeowners who are age 65 or who are disabled.
The deadline to qualify for the Homestead Credit on your current tax bill is October 15th. If you have any questions or concerns, please see the friendly staff in the Real Estate Department at 119 W Arch, call 501-279-6208, or check out the real estate records online.
All real property is reappraised on a 5-year cycle and assessed according to the market value. Our field team visits every property in the county at least once each year, not only for reappraisal purposes, but to assess newly constructed buildings. We do not contract with an outside firm to do our work. The staff appraisers you may talk with at your home are the same people who will discuss your value with you in the Assessor's Office, year after year. With six Level 4 appraisers in the Reappraisal Department, including the data entry staff, the continuing education we receive in the assessment profession allows the Assessor's staff to keep up with the ever changing real estate market in Central Arkansas.
Feel free to call 501-279-6208 to talk to someone on our reappraisal staff.
May 31st - Deadline to assess personal property
3rd Monday in August - Deadline to appeal current assessment
Oct 15th - Deadline to pay property taxes
Oct 15th - Deadline to apply for Homestead Credit
To request more information:
Contact the Assessor's Office
Personal Property 501.279.6205
Real Estate 501.279.6208
Personal Property Email: firstname.lastname@example.org
Office Hours: Monday-Friday 8:00 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.
119 West Arch
Searcy, AR. 7214
You can also request more information with this form: